Frequently Asked Questions

  • Can I keep my car if I declare bankruptcy?

    You often can. If the vehicle is leased, you may be able keep it through an agreement with the lessor, provided you make monthly payments. If the value of your vehicle is minimal, you may be able to keep it under certain conditions.

  • Will I be able to keep my house?

    If the value of your home is similar to the balance of your mortgage, you may be able to make an arrangement with your mortgagee. If the value of your home is substantially higher than the balance of your mortgage, you should probably consider other solutions instead of bankruptcy.

  • Will my furniture be seized?

    No, except for valuable furniture, such as art and antiques which are not considered essential.

  • Will someone come to my home to seize my property?

    If you are you are not under the protection of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, creditors may seize your property in certain cases, but no-one may do so following bankruptcy. In nearly all cases the trustee will not visit your home.

  • Can tax debts be included in a bankruptcy?

    Yes, unless they are the result of fraud.

  • If I declare bankruptcy, how long will it affect my credit?

    Usually people experiencing financial difficulties have already affected their credit in some way. A notice will appear in your credit file for six or seven years following a bankruptcy. However, if allowed by your new financial situation, creditors may agree to lend to you again.

  • What happens to my wages during bankruptcy?

    The wages of a bankrupt, including salaries and commissions, etc. are monitored by the Trustee. Each month the bankrupt is required to complete an income and expense statement and forward it to the Trustee. This statement shows the amount of monthly income for the bankrupt's household family unit as well as amounts spent on rent, food, clothing, etc.

    The Trustee will provide the bankrupt with a blank income and expense statement for this purpose. The Superintendent of Bankruptcy publishes standards as to the normal maximum amounts required as living expenses for a bankrupt's household family unit. A portion of any income earned in excess of these standards is to be paid by the bankrupt to the Trustee, for the general benefit of the creditors.

  • Will my employer find out about my bankruptcy?

    No, unless your wages were seized before your bankruptcy.

  • Who will know about the bankruptcy?

    Your creditors are notified by mail/fax/email if you have minimal assets. There is no publication in the newspaper. However, all bankrupt filings are public documents.

  • Are my RRSP'S seizable?

    All RRSP’s are unseizable except for the last twelve (12) months’ contributions which are seizable.

  • Will my creditors stop harassing me?

    They should. By law, all actions against you have to stop. Neither secured creditors nor alimony payments are affected by bankruptcy.

  • How much will this cost me for declaring bankruptcy?

    The monthly cost of declaring bankruptcy is determined by your income and government legislation. Since you will no longer have to pay off your debts after the bankruptcy, you will be able to make these monthly payments.

  • Who pays for the trustees services?

    In summary administration bankruptcies, the Trustee's fee is prescribed by the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act as a tariff and is based on the amount of funds received by the Trustee.

    The basic fee covers all services provided by the Trustee including both mandatory counselling sessions and registration fees. Monthly installments or payment in full at the outset of the bankruptcy will be discussed during your initial consultation.

    Your monthly or lump sum payment to the Trustee would be included in any Surplus Income Payment requirements.

    In ordinary administration bankruptcies where there are significant assets and substantial work for the Trustee to do, the Trustee's fee is based on the number of hours spent by the Trustee's staff at the normal billing rates.

    All Trustee's fees are reviewed by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and, if applicable, are approved by the Inspectors and the Court.



Form to send your question

Questions & Réponses

  • Est-ce que je peux conserver mon auto lors d'une faillite ?

    Souvent, c'est oui. Si c'est une location, vous pourriez conserver votre véhicule, avec l'accord du prêteur, à condition de faire les versements mensuels. Si la valeur de votre véhicule est minime, vous pourriez le garder sous certaines conditions.

  • Est-ce que je vais pouvoir garder ma maison ?

    Si la valeur de votre maison est similaire au solde de votre hypothèque, vous pourriez peut-être prendre des arrangements avec votre créancier hypothécaire. Si la valeur de votre maison est substantiellement supérieure au solde de votre hypothèque, vous devriez probablement considérer d'autres solutions.

  • Mon ameublement sera-t-il saisi ?

    Non, à l'exception de meubles de grande valeur, tels des antiquités et des objets d'art qui ne sont pas considérés comme essentiels.

  • Est-ce que quelqu'un va venir saisir mes biens à la maison ?

    Tant que vous ne serez pas sous la protection de la Loi, les créanciers pourraient, dans certains cas, saisir vos biens, mais personne ne pourra le faire après. Dans presque tous les cas, le conseiller n'ira pas vous rendre visite à domicile.

  • Est-ce que les dettes d'impôts peuvent faire partie d'une faillite ?

    Oui, à moins qu'elles ne soient le résultat d'une fraude.

  • Si je fais faillite, mon crédit sera affecté pour combien de temps ?

    Normalement, les personnes en difficulté financière ont déjà affecté leur crédit d'une façon ou d'une autre. Une inscription à votre dossier de crédit apparaîtra pendant environ 6 ou 7 ans après. Toutefois, si votre nouvelle situation financière vous le permet, un créancier pourrait accepter de vous prêter à nouveau.

  • Qu'advient-il de mon salaire ?

    Le salaire du failli, y compris les commissions, etc., sont surveillés. Chaque mois, le failli doit remplir un état des revenus et des dépenses et le transmettre au syndic. Cet état indique le montant du revenu mensuel du ménage du failli ainsi que les sommes consacrées au loyer, à la nourriture, à l'habillement, etc. à cette fin, le syndic fournit au failli un formulaire à remplir.

    Le surintendant publie des normes sur les montants maximums habituellement nécessaires à la subsistance du ménage d'un failli. Le failli doit verser au syndic une partie de tout revenu excédentaire établi selon ces normes, au profit des créanciers en général. Les paiements de revenu excédentaire doivent être versés tous les mois, pendant la durée de le processus.

  • Mon employeur sera-t-il au courant ?

    Non, à moins que votre salaire ait été saisi avant.

  • Qui sera informé ?

    Vos créanciers seront avisés par la poste/télécopieur/courriel si vous avez peu de biens. Il n'y aura aucune publication dans les journaux. Par contre, le processus est d'ordre public.

  • Est-ce que mes RÉER sont saisissables ?

    Tous les RÉER sont insaisissables à l'exception des contributions faites au cours des douze (12) derniers mois.

  • Mes créanciers cesseront-ils de me harceler ?

    Ils le devraient. Selon la Loi, toute action contre vous doit cesser immédiatement. Les créanciers garantis et les pensions alimentaires ne sont pas affectés.

  • Combien cela me coûtera-t-il ?

    Le coût mensuel est déterminé en fonction de vos revenus et est prescrit par le gouvernement. Comme vous n'aurez plus à payer vos dettes après la faillite, vous serez alors en mesure de faire ces versements mensuels.

  • Qui paie les services du syndic ?

    Pour une faillite faisant l'objet d'une administration sommaire, ces honoraires sont représentés par le tarif de la Loi et dépendent des fonds reçus.

    Les honoraires de base couvrent tous les services fournis, y compris les frais des séances de consultation obligatoires et les droits d'enregistrement. Lors de votre consultation initiale, il est décidé s'il convient d'opter pour des mensualités abordables ou pour le paiement de la somme intégrale dès le début.

    Ces mensualités ou cette somme forfaitaire font partie des obligations relatives aux paiements de revenu excédentaire.

    Pour une faillite faisant l'objet d'une administration ordinaire, qui porte sur des actifs importants et qui nécessite un travail considérable de la part du syndic, les honoraires de ce dernier sont établis en fonction du nombre d'heures de travail de son personnel, multiplié par les taux de facturation habituels.

    Les honoraires sont soumis à l'examen du Bureau du surintendant et, au besoin, approuvés par les inspecteurs et le tribunal.



Formulaire pour envoyer votre question